A change will do you good.

July 1 marks the halfway point of the year. Usually people reflect upon their lives annually on New Year’s Eve. But why wait? I decided to challenge myself now. And after spending the weekend “off the grid”… out of touch with most of the world… I found myself not completely happy with where I’m at. Now, that’s not to say that I’m disappointed with what I have accomplished so far this year. But, it’s a solemn reminder that if we lose focus of our goals, we will never achieve them.

Health & Wellness

This is probably the goal that I have neglected the most. Yes, I played volleyball earlier this year. Yes, I ran a 4.5 mile obstacle course. And yes, I have made more deliberate food choices (for the most part), when it comes to sodium intake. However, I’ve failed to get into the gym the minimum of two times per week. I’ve also been lax on the cardio that I should be doing…daily. And lastly, I haven’t been eating nearly as healthy as I could.

Therefore, I’ve decided to make the following changes starting today:

  • 30 minutes of cardio daily (ideally jogging in the morning when I first wake up–yes, this means I’ll need to wake up earlier)
  • No bread. It’s crazy, I know. But I want to challenge myself and cut out unnecessary food.
  • Healthier food choices. This includes: less cheese, more almonds and nuts, as well as protein shakes for breakfast. Also: good bye soda…hello more water and unsweetened iced tea… and less alcohol as well.

Financials

I’m giving myself kudos in this particular area. I’ve been doing a better job of budgeting each month, spending less on non-essential items, and saving money while paying down debt. But, I know I can do more. So, if you’re someone who is close to me, I challenge you to keep me accountable by:

  • Reminding me that just because it’s on sale or clearance, I don’t need it.
  • Asking me how much I’ve put away in my savings this month.

Career Path

With change comes opportunity. There have already been, and I’m certain will be more, changes in our department at work. This means I need to focus myself on how I can be:

  • A strong, high-performing contributor, throughout the organization.
  • A leader… for my coworkers and others.
  • Knowledgeable and ready for any situation.
  • More in-tune with the needs and emotions of those around me.
  • Positioned to stretch myself–finding opportunities and challenges to advance me both personally and professionally.
About lkissler

Lance Kissler Lance’s specific field of expertise includes online marketing and communications, branding, health and crisis communications
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.